Adobe Software Scam

Posted November 26, 2008 

Theregistar.co.uk is warning about Adobe software scams that are appearing in Google ads.

Now click on them. You’ll see that each ad points to nearly identical pages. And if you hit that big red button to get your free Acrobat 9 suite, you’ll see that each site shuttles you to the same sign-up page at the same domain. And if you key your name, email address, and location into the form, you’ll see that your free Adobe 9 suite isn’t free. You’re asked to key in your credit card number for “access and support.” The ostensible fee is at least $2.47 a month.
AdWords Acrobat Ads

Quality ads?

It’s not just that these ads violate the Federal Trade Commission’s advertising guidelines, misleading the gullible with bogus claims. It’s not just that they’re breaking copyright law, selling pirated software. They also violate Google’s very own AdWords policies, which prohibit double ad serving.

Remember that Adobe programs are quite expensive. If a deal sounds too good to be true, it usually is.

Read Google – your source for FREE Adobe gear for more information.

Popularity: 3% [?]